My Vision

 

ashtanga_vinyasa

Yoga is not purely a physical exercise, nor a religion. Yoga is a life style; it is life itself. It is not possible to separate the practitioner and yoga. If you have a choice: yoga or career, yoga or family, yoga or something else – it does not work out. There is no such choice. Yoga is inside you. Yoga is the state of your soul.

But it is difficult to explain this to a beginner taking his first steps on his yoga path. In the very beginning, most people consider yoga to be just a physical exercise. It is especially true in cases involving a physically demanding practice, such as Ashtanga yoga. With time one understands that Ashtanga is more than just gymnastics. If someone works on a particular asana for a year but cannot make it, he starts questioning himself, “Why?” Soon after, the awareness comes – in order to realize the asana; one must not focus attention on it. One must stop using the conscious effort to perform and simply let the body line up by itself.

One of the main aspects of the practice is to switch off the conscious effort. Many people who are already familiar with yoga join an Ashtanga class thinking, “Am I aligning my body correctly? Am I squeezing shoulder blades enough? Am I engaging my hips in the proper way?” This is a common mistake for all newcomers. When you start Ashtanga yoga practice, turn off the brain; let your body align itself.

Our body is very intelligent, the asana is very intelligent. Let go and you will see the result.

You must be conscious and feel that you are only here and now. You must be aware of your Ujjayi breath, which is one of the three main aspects of Ashtanga yoga (http://suryayoga.ru/ashtanga-yoga/?lang=en). You must concentrate your attention on Drishti and feel the asana with your entire body. If you concentrate your attention on something besides the Drishti it might slow down your progress and even lead to injuries. Try to relax in the asana. It is written in The Yoga Sutra, “Prayatna shaithilya ananta samapattibhyam” (“The means of perfecting the posture is that of relaxing or loosening the effort, and allowing attention to merge with endlessness, or the infinite”.)

True practice of Ashtanga Yoga requires a great deal of discipline, dedication, humility and concentration. There are only six sequences for you to practice in your entire life. The sixth series is the top level. Not many people practice more than the first two series. Day after day you practice the same sequence. This routine requires a huge commitment. But this practice is very rewarding. You see and you feel the result.

I am infinitely in love with Ashtanga yoga, but it does not mean that I recommend this practice to each and every person. Yoga practice is always strictly individual. Through the practice, we try to achieve Samadhi. And everyone does it in their own way. It’s like eating an apple. A person with strong teeth and healthy gums just eats an apple as a whole, while another would cut the apple into pieces and some would prefer apple juice. But the end result is the same; the apple is consumed and vitamins absorbed.

If you crave yoga, it means that in your previous life you have ascended to a certain level and are getting closer to the divine Self. Thrust in the Spiritual, thrust to yoga implies that your soul is rising with every new incarnation. Do not disrupt your progress. Keep practicing and may peace and harmony always be within you.

RYT200

Мое видение

ashtanga_vinyasaЙога это не просто физическая практика или религия. Йога это образ жизни, йога это и есть жизнь. Невозможно отделить йогу от практикующего, она внутри человека. Если перед вами, когда — либо стоял выбор: йога или работа, йога или семья, йога или что — либо еще – это всего лишь иллюзия. Этого выбора нет. Йога это состояние души.

 

Но было бы, по меньшей мере, неправильно обременять этой информацией человека, который только начинает свой путь в йогу. В начале для большинства людей йога (а тем более такая силовая практика как Аштанга йога) это всего лишь физическое упражнение, но с практикой к человеку приходит осознание того, что это гораздо больше, чем просто гимнастика. Когда он бьется над одной асаной вот уже год, и она все еще ему не дается, он начинает задаваться вопросом: «А почему так?» И вскоре приходит к пониманию, что асану нужно отпустить, не концентрировать на ней свое внимание, перестать использовать мозг и позволить телу выстраиваться самому.

 

Одним из главным аспектов практики является отключение разума. Большинство людей знакомых с йогой, приходя в аштанга йогу, начинают думать: «А правильно ли я выстраиваю тело? Правильно ли я сжимаю лопатки? Достаточно ли я напрягаю торс?» и т.д. Это самая распространенная ошибка среди всех практикующих. Приходя в аштангу, отключайте разум, позвольте телу самому выстраиваться.

 

Вы должны ощущать свое сознание и четко понимать, что вы только здесь и сейчас. Нужно осознавать свое дыхание уджаи, которое является одним из трех ключевых аспектов аштанга практики , концентрировать внимание на дришти и чувствовать асану всем телом. Концентрация внимания, на чем — либо кроме дришти возможно затормозит ваше развитие в практике и приведет к травмам. Старайтесь расслабиться в асане, как сказано в йога сутрах: «Праятха шайтхилия ананта самапаттибхьям». Что в переводе означает: совершенства асаны можно достичь через полное расслабление и ослабление усилий и позволить вниманию слиться с бесконечностью или безграничностью.

 

Наше тело очень интеллигентно, асана очень интеллигентна, отпустите разум, и вы сразу увидите результат.

 

Истинная практика аштанга йоги требует огромной дисциплины, самоотдачи, смирения и концентрации. Вы только представьте, всего 6 серий, 6 последовательностей асан, которые человек практикует на протяжении всей жизни. И 6 серий это в лучшем случае, а обычно их не более двух. Изо дня в день вы практикуете одну и ту же последовательность. Эта рутина требует огромной преданности делу. Такая практика очень полезна, вы видите, а что самое главное чувствуете свой результат.

 

Я безгранично влюблена в аштанга йогу, но это абсолютно не значит, что я советую такую практику всем и каждому. Практика всегда сугубо индивидуальна. Через практику мы все стараемся достичь Самадхи. И каждый делает это по-своему. Это как с яблоком, если у человека хорошие здоровые зубы и десны он просто ест яблоко целиком, кому — то необходимо порезать яблоко на куски, для кого-то нужно сделать пюре, но во всех случаях человек употребляет яблоко и усваивает витамины.

 

Если в этом воплощении у вас уже есть тяга к йоге, значит, в прошлом вы уже взошли на новую ступень и приблизились к совершенству. Тяга к духовному, к йоге говорит о том, что ваша душа возвышается с каждым новым воплощением. Не теряйте ваш прогресс, практикуйте и пусть в вас всегда прибывают мир и гармония.

RYT200